Quote: “Now for my life, it is a miracle …”

 

“For the World, I count it not an Inn, but an Hospital; and a place not to live, but to dye in. The world that I regard is my self; it is the Microcosm of my own frame that I cast mine eye on; for the other, I use it but like my Globe, and turn it round sometimes for my recreation. Men that look upon my outside, perusing only my condition and Fortunes, do err in my Altitude; for I am above Atlas his shoulders. The earth is a point not only in respect of the Heavens above us, but of that heavenly and celestial part within us: that mass of Flesh that circumscribes me, limits not my mind: that surface that tells the Heavens it hath an end, cannot persuade me I have any: I take my circle to be above three hundred and sixty; though the number of the Ark do measure my body, it comprehendeth not my mind: whilst I study to find how I am a Microcosm, or little World, I find my self something more than the great. “

 

— Sir Thomas Browne, from his Religio Medici (1643) — available for viewing in the Manetta Braunstein Research Library, in an edition published by J. M. Dent & Sons, New York

2 thoughts on “Quote: “Now for my life, it is a miracle …”

  1. Always good to cite the precise location of a quotation. Permit me, Part 2 Section 12. of Browne’s Religio Medici. Best to include all the opening lines of this paragraph for complete comprehension. Even better to read WHY it is was chosen !

    1. It was chosen to prompt people to wonder why it was chosen. It was chosen because the book is in the library, and a person who read that part might want to come and read more. Then they can read the opening lines. Then they can comprehend completely. Absolute comprehension will be theirs. The completeness of their comprehension will dazzle passing birds and small animals, and the cockroach that lurks in a corner. It is a teaser. It is a detail.

Tell us what you think

