Quote: Mark Fox

Trinity - Mark FoxMark Fox, Untitled (Trinity), 2008, from the Frederick R. Weisman Art Foundation

When I was doing it [puppetry], I was aware of how I was being manipulated by the puppets, by its limitations. So in the studio, throughout the process of making drawings or paintings, there were these accidents: Splatters, drops, ink stains on pieces of paper, paint splatters. I looked at those and I thought, “These are just as beautiful as anything I’m making.” So I started cutting them out diligently, these “mistakes.” I found that images that had no thought or took no time to make, had me sitting down for hours cutting them out and so I was being manipulated again by the work.

— from an interview with Hans Aschim at Cool Hunting

Tell us what you think

