Commentary: “My experience here at the Marjorie Barrick Museum …”

Gauthier - Contre Raison
Dominique Gauthier, Contre-Raison, 2000, from the Frederick R. Weisman Art Foundation (photo by Mike Ramos)

Barrick volunteer Mike Ramos writes about the art he’s noticed at the Museum.

My experience here at the Marjorie Barrick Museum has been quite an enjoyable time. Volunteering here has given me the opportunity to examine different pieces of art that are just simply mesmerizing. With many different pieces to enjoy there were a couple that truly did stick out to me. The first day I arrived  noticed one piece of art that was absolutely beautiful. The piece was called LHC, by David Ryan. The acrylic and Flashe piece just stuck out to me with the colors and dimensions. Overall it was one of my favorites. The next day I was here at the museum I noticed another piece that was very vibrant and intricate as well. Contre-Raison, by Dominic Gauthier stuck out to me so much more that asked myself, “How did I not notice this the first day I was here?” This is one thing I learned in my time volunteering at the Marjorie Barrick Museum, Every time you enter the gallery something new is gonna stick out to you that you never noticed before. Whether it be a painting, sculpture, or drawing something is going to grab your attention and really make you appreciate the hard work that the artist put into that piece. To me that is the coolest part about this museum on campus. No matter how many times you visit the gallery there is going to be one piece that will stick out to you that you never noticed before. I plan to come back to the Marjorie Barrick Museum to see other pieces that they will have in the future.

Tell us what you think

